Here you will find those library tools that allow you to locate information the OWHL has purchased, licensed, and provides. Each tool will access different locations and types of information. It is important to remember this and to work through your research process in a determined way. I recommend that you set each of these links in your browser's toolbar for quick access.
The city and the coming climate : climate change in the places we live by 
Earthmasters : the dawn of the age of climate engineering by 
Climate and conservation : landscape and seascape science, planning, and action by 
The climate change crisis by
“The unique value of the Issues in Society series lies in its diversity of content and perspectives. The content comes from a wide variety of sources and includes: newspaper reports and opinion pieces, website fact sheets, magazine and journal articles, statistics and surveys, government reports, and literature from special interest groups.”
Renewable energy sources and climate change mitigation : special report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change by Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog
| Keyword Searching | |
| Typically, when you search, you will use keywords. Simply enter the basic ideas/keywords of your topic in the search box. The computer will search for books containing those keywords in the title, subjects, and descriptions of the books. | |
| Subject Searching | |
| Subject searching is more powerful than keyword searching. It allows you to use a specific vocabulary to find books in the catalog. To find a good subject, look at the display page of a book you already like. Click on the subject link to run a search |
The Britannica guide to climate change : an unbiased guide to the key issue of our age by
"This Britannica guide gives a clear overview of the scientific evidence, from data showing how the atmosphere has changed in the last 4.5 billion years to more recent studies on the symptoms of a warming planet and the global effects of greenhouse gases, deforestation, and population. The guide introduces you to the possible solutions and to key figures in the debate, from the origins of environmentalism through to the Kyoto Protocol and beyond."
Encyclopedia of energy by
"The Encyclopedia of Energy provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, with articles written by leading international authorities, from Acid Deposition and Energy Use to World History and Energy. It will not only be indispensable for students and researchers, but also for policy makers, energy and environmental consultants, and all those working in business corporations and non-governmental organisations whose activities relate to energy and the environment."
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences by
"The oceans cover 70% of the Earth's surface, and are critical components of Earth's climate system. This new edition of Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences summarizes the breadth of knowledge about them, providing revised, up to date entries as well coverage of new topics in the field."
Encyclopedia of weather and climate by
"Presents a two-volume reference featuring expanded, updated, and rewritten articles on subjects related to meteorology and climatology."
Global social issues : an encyclopedia by
"This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration."
International encyclopedia of environmental politics by
The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.
