Secondary Sources: E-Books, E-Reserves, and journals - HSS 300 - United States History through a Different Lens

E-Reserves

Reference materials don't provide all the answers. After getting an overview and taking notes from reference sources, you will need to find more detailed sources on your topic. The OWHL librarians and your teachers have already pre-selected a group of reserve books that should be most useful to you. Start with this list of books and if necessary, conduct your own catalog search for E-Books on your topic (see box below).

Table of Contents/Indexes for Scanned US History Reserves
For Ms. Ainsworth's Class. To view the entire book chat with a librarian below and request access. Please note there is only ONE digital copy of each title available at a time, so if your classmate is currently using the book, there may be a wait time for you to view the book.

An African American and Latinx history of the United States
Call Number: E-Book
Limit one user at a time. When you are done be sure to close out of the book.
A Black Women's History of the United States by Daina Ramey Berry; Kali Nicole Gross
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2020
Limit one user at a time. When you are done be sure to close out of the book.
A Disability History of the United States-EBSCO by Kim E. Nielsen
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013
Limit one user at a time. When you are done be sure to close out of the book.
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States - EBSCO by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2014
Limit one user at a time. When you are done be sure to close out of the book.
An indigenous peoples' history of the United States- Overdrive by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
Call Number: http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=327&titleID=1646691
Publication Date: 2014
Overdrive you can borrow the title for a period of time. Two copies are available through this link to borrow.
A Queer History of the United States - EBSCO by Michael Bronski
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011
Limit one user at a time. When you are done be sure to close out of the book.
A queer history of the United States - Overdrive by Michael Bronski
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011
Overdrive, you can borrow the title for a period of time. Two copies are available through this link to borrow.
A companion to Asian American studies by Kent A. Ono
Publication Date: 2005
E-Book

Find E-Books

Search for Books in the Catalog
Be sure to change the "Format" filter from ALL to Book - Electronic, to limit results to e-books only.

E-Book Databases:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.

E-Book Websites:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book

Internet Archive - Online Options Abound
Start by creating a FREE account using your personal email address (this will allow you to access books after you leave P.A.). Search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by institutions.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Journal Articles and Other eResources

General Databases. This list covers many different topics, they are a great place to get started!

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
CQ Researcher: 1923 to the Present This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports written by award-winning journalists on controversial and important topics of the day, from 1923 to the present. Professionally fact-checked, topics include economics, social issues, international affairs, politics, civil rights, public policy, and more.
Infobase Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
This database use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and World along with in-depth secondary source articles on historical events. It also provides each issue with its background information and its pro/con arguments.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.