OWHLGuide in Support of the HUACA Project: Reference Sources Plus

Reference books should only be used for an overview, and not as one of your major sources.  Because reference book articles are short, you are not going to find the level of detail required to write a successful paper.

Circulating books offers more specific information on one major subject with lots of details in its further subdivision.  You may also find lots of supporting materials via facts, personal experience or survey as well as possible some statistics.  It takes you to a deeper level of research.

• Reference books are located in the Garver Room (silent study room).
• Reference books CANNOT be checked out or leave the library.
• Please return reference books to the Garver Room when you're done using them.
• All reference books will have the prefix REF before the call number.

****************************************

• Circulating books are located in the stacks. 
• Please use the Stack Directory in the Main Help Desk area or ask librarians.
• If you don't find a circulating book in the stack, you may check 1) Books around the slot where it should be; 2) The shelves with "To be shelved" in the stacks; 3) Ask the librarian at the Circulation Desk to see if it is just returned.
• Librarians can help you to get a copy via an Interlibrary Loan service.

Debates and debating. 

Oral communication.

Public speaking

Persuasion (Rhetoric)

Ten Secrets For Using PowerPoint Effectively

Best of luck on your project!

An Inca account of the Conquest of Peru

Contested territory [electronic resource] : mapping Peru in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries

Creating context in Andean cultures [electronic resource]

History of the conquest of Peru; with a preliminary view of the civilization of the Incas.

Lessons from a Quechua strongwoman [electronic resource] : ideophony, dialogue, and perspective

Peru [electronic resource]

Peru Society and Culture Complete Report

Quechua-Spanish bilingualism [electronic resource] : interference and convergence in functional categories

The Tiwanaku : portrait of an Andean civilization

Voices from the global margin [electronic resource] : confronting poverty and inventing new lives in the Andes

The woman in the violence [electronic resource] : gender, poverty, and resistance in Peru

To view more, please visit Indians of South America Andes Region History.

Last Update: 01/12/2015

Reference sources are also available in database form through the library.  These sources are available 24/7!

• Credo Reference is a broad-based reference tool that can be limited to search for literature resources.
• Encyclopedia Britannica is useful for finding broad overviews.
• The Literary Encyclopedia is good for author overviews; it also includes some information on literary works and movements.
• Reference Universe shows you what is inside each book, searching deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.
• Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Search Oxford's authoritative bilingual dictionaries to get accurate, up-to-date translations you can rely on.

The Garver Room houses the library’s main reference collection.  Use reference materials, such as almanacs, fact books, dictionaries and encyclopedias to get an overview of key terms and concepts related to your topics as a way to begin the research process.