OWHL Guides: Spanish 621: "Our Americas": Crossing Borders: Electronic Resources

Recommended Internet Sites on Latin America

OWHL e-Resources vs. Websites

OWHL e-Resources

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.

Accessing E-Resources from Off-Campus

How do I access e-Resources off campus?

In order to do this, you must have the following:

Your BlueCard or student ID number
A Library PIN. You can obtain a 4-digit PIN number by connecting with us in person, or through the Ask Us chat service on our homepage.

What if I don't have a PIN?

Simply contact us via LibAnswer or chat with a Librarian!

Recommended Electronic Databases

ABC CLIO The Latino American Experience: The American Mosaic (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinx.
ABC CLIO World History: The Modern Era (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers global history from the Renaissance through today. Some primary sources may also be found here.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
Offers resources in Spanish for all ages in two unique interfaces: Enciclopedia Moderna for high school and college students and Britannica Escolar for elementary and middle school students.
Chelsea House Biographies This link opens in a new window
Features full-length biographies of contemporary and historical personalities from around the world.
CQ Researcher: 1923 to the Present This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports written by award-winning journalists on controversial and important topics of the day, from 1923 to the present. Professionally fact-checked, topics include economics, social issues, international affairs, politics, civil rights, public policy, and more.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist and Classical Studies. In addition, it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes, and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
With full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals, this database provides quality Hispanic reference material.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase World News Digest This link opens in a new window
This database provides contemporary news from global organizations and publishers, magazines, websites, and government agencies.
Infobase World Religions This link opens in a new window
This reference database explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans. Issues appear weekly, with the exception of July, Thanksgiving break and December.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
A single search for the following databases: Biology; Canadian Newsstream; Computing; Education; International Newsstream; Psychology; Religion; Research Library; Science; Social Science; and US Newsstream.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
ProQuest El País, Madrid: Prisacom This link opens in a new window
El País (Jul 28, 2008 - present) is the most read newspaper in Spanish online and one of the Madrid dailies considered to be a national newspaper of record for Spain.
ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
It is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Research & Instructional Librarian

Sharon Pei

Email Me

Contact:

Oliver Wendell Homes Library

978-749-4228

Subjects: Classics, Summer Session, World Languages & Global Studies

Research Tip - Bibliography Mining

When you find a book or an article that is relevant to your topic, always check the bibliography or the reference list of that source cited by an author for other sources and then ask a librarian for help with finding them. This process is called "Bibliography Mining" or "Cited Reference Searching".

Please take advantage of it, as the author of the book or article has already done much of your topic research for you, and they spent many weeks/months/years of his/her life doing research.