Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages–pages. https://doi.org/XXXXXXXXXXX
Reed, M. J., Kennett, D. J., Lewis, T., Lund-Lucas, E., Stallberg, C., & Newbold, I. L. (2009). The relative effects of university success courses and individualized interventions for students with learning disabilities. Higher Education Research & Development, 28(4), 385–400. https://doi.org/10.1080/07294360903067013
(Reed et al., 2009)
Omit the page numbers and use the article number in its place.
Derry, K. (2018). Myth and monstrosity: Teaching indigenous films. Journal of Religion & Film, 22(3), Article 7. https://digitalcommons.unomaha.edu/jrf/
(Derry, 2018)
Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages–pages.
Only include a URL if it takes you to the full text of the article without logging in.
Husain, A. N., Colby, T. V., Ordóñez, N. G., Krausz, T., Borczuk, A., Cagle, P. T, Chirieac, L. R., Churg, A., Galeateau-Salle, F., Gibbs, A. R., Gown, A. M., Hammar, S. P., Lizky, A. A., Roggli, V. L., Travis, W. D., & Wick, M. R. (2009). Guidelines for pathologic diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, 133(8), 1317–1331.
(Husain et al., 2009)
Note: Do not include the name of a database, except for very rare occasions where the content is exclusive to the database. See Other Database Content for more guidance.
Sources: Publication Manual, 10.1 (examples 1-6); Journal Article References [APA Style]
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Newspaper Title, pages–pages.
Clark, A. (2009, August 9). Apartment glut good for students, bad for owners. The Gainesville Sun, 1A, 9A.
(Clark, 2009)
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. http://xxxxx
Associated Press. (2019, October 7). Unions sue USDA seeking to halt new pork processing rule. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2019/10/07/us/ap-us-pork-slaughter-changes.html
(Associated Press, 2019)
Johnson, K. (2017, January 16). Rwanda takes vital baby steps for preschool education. East African. https://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/Rwanda/News/Rwanda-takes-vital-baby-steps-for-pre-school-education/1433218-3519704-bi37kl/index.html
(Johnson, 2017)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 16); Newspaper Article References [APA Style]
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume(Issue, if available), pages–pages.
Erim, K. T. (1967, August). Ancient Aphrodisias and its marble treasures. National Geographic, 132(2), 280–294.
(Erim, 1967)
If you are unable to find the volume/issue, omit that component.
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume(Issue). http://xxxxx
Tizon, A. (2017, June). My family's slave. The Atlantic, 319(5). https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2017/06/lolas-story/524490/
(Tizon, 2017)
The supermarket of the future. (2017, May 23). Consumer Reports. https://www.consumerreports.org/grocery-stores-supermarkets/supermarket-of-the-future/
("The Supermarket," 2017)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 15); Magazine Article References [APA Style]
Reviewer, A. A. (Year). Title of review [Review of the media or performance Title of media or performance, by B. B. Creator]. Source information.
Reviewer, A. A. (Year). Title of review [Review of the book Title of book, by B. B. Author]. Source information.
King, N. (2009). The psychology of personal constructs [Review of the book George Kelly: The psychology of personal constructs, by T. Butt]. History & Philosophy of Psychology, 11(1), 44–47. http://www.bps.org.uk/publications/member-network-publications/member-publications/history-and-philosophy-psychology
(King, 2009)
Reviewer, A. A. (Year). Title of review [Review of the film Film, by D.D.. Director, Dir.]. Source information.
Schickel, R. (2006). The power of Babel [Review of the film Babel, by A. G. Iñárritu, Dir.]. Time, 168(18), 70.
(Schickel, 2006)
Reviewer, A. A. (Year). Title of review [Review of the play Play title, by P.P.. Playwright & D.D, Director, Dir.]. Source information.
Akbar, A. (2022). Good review – David Tennant is magnificent in chilling drama [Review of the play Good, by C.P. Taylor & D. Cooke, Dir.]. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2022/oct/13/good-review-harold-pinter-theatre-london-david-tennant-cp-taylor.
(Akbar, 2022)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.7 (examples 67-68)
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Database Name. https://doi.org/XXXXXXXXXXX OR http://xxxxx
Kirby, J. (n.d.). Austria: The business experience. A to Z the World. Retrieved October 7, 2019, from http://www.atoztheworld.com/
(Kirby, n.d.)
Sources: Publication Manual, 10.1 (examples 13-14); APA Style: Database Information in References
For online journal articles that are published online before they are available in print.
Capone, L. J., Albert, N. M., Bena, J. F., & Tang, A. S. (2012). Serious fall injuries in hospitalized patients with and without cancer. Journal of Nursing Care Quality. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1097/NCQ.0b013e3182679056
(Capone at al., 2012)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 7)