OWHL Guides: Innocence Club: Research & Resources

Vik Muniz, "Portraits of Freedom"

Vik Muniz Termaine Hicks, after Sameer Abdel-Khalek (November 27, 2001 - December 16, 2020), Innocence Project, 2024

Vik Muniz, Rosa Jimenez, after Elijah Craig (August 31, 2005 - August 7, 2023), Innocence Project, 2024

Vik Muniz, Felipe Rodriguez, after Kenny Karpov (May 21, 1990 - December 30, 2019), Innocence Project, 2024

Vik Muniz, Michelle Murphy, after Kenny Karpov (November 19, 1995 - September 12, 2014), Innocence Project, 2024

National & Local Organizations

The Innocence Project
Innocence Network
The Innocence Network is an informal coalition of independent innocence organizations dedicated to combating wrongful convictions worldwide and reforming the criminal legal system.
Boston College Innocence Project
New England Innocence Project

See more videos on the Impact of Human Factors on Wrongful Convictions. Created by the Ohio Innocence Project and the Innocence Project. Co-sponsored by the International Association of Chiefs of Police and the Innocence Network.

Resources on The Innocence Project, Exonerations, and Wrongful Convictions

Research Resources - Innocence Project
A great place to kick off your research and find background information on the Innocence Project, exonerations, and wrongful convictions.
Research Needs - Innocence Project
Past Cases - Innocence Project
Review Innocence Project cases of exonerated clients.
Fast Facts: DNA Exonerations in the United States, 1989-2020
National Registry of Exonerations
Browse exonerations cases and infographics. National Registry of Exonerations is a project of Exonerations is a project of the Newkirk Center for Science & Society at University of California Irvine, the University of Michigan Law School and Michigan State University College of Law.
Convicting the Innocent: DNA Exonerations Database
Innocence Research
Links to scholarly research on wrongful convictions and popular culture resources related to wrongful convictions including film, books, podcasts and more.

Legal Research

Free Legal Research Sites
Compiled by George Mason University Law School
Justia
Justia provides open and free access to the law, and a platform for the legal community to share their knowledge.
Find Law
Searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions.
Supreme Court of The United States
Oyez
A multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. A free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Citations - Chicago Manual of Style

Recommended Databases

New York Times (NYT)
Full text coverage: 1851 to present.
1. First time user: Create a New York Times personal account using your name@andover.edu email address.
2. You will need to reauthenticate your account annually to keep your subscription current
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search and read full text articles from 28 historical newspapers listed below [click "more..." to view list"]:

• The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
• The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
• The Boston Globe (1872-1984)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
• The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
• Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
• Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
• The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2015)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• New York Tribune (1841-1922)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
• San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
• The Scotsman (1817-1950)
• The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
• The Times of India (1838-2007)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
• The Washington Post (1877-1999)
ProQuest E-Book Central
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
ProQuest Research Library
This database provides access to scholarly and popular press articles covering a wide range of topics, including business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women’s interests.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Full Text Finder
This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.