Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Prelude to Revolution OWHL Guide
Welcome to the Oliver Wendell Holmes Library and the Prelude to Revolution OWHL Guide! Click on the tabs above to see all of the relevant sources that are available for this assignment.
If you have any questions, please chat with a librarian!
Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
Databases: A to Z
The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Full Text Finder (EBSCO)
This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
American History Online (Facts on File)
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
American National Biography (Oxford)
ANB offers portraits of more than 19,000 American men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation.
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
American Indian History Online (Facts on File)
This source provides reference articles on over 15,000 years of Native American culture and history, and includes biographies, legends, treaties, and more. Some primary sources are included.
Global Exploration Online
A reference database that provides an in-depth introduction to the history of exploration, from ancient times through space travel.
African American History Online (Facts on File)
This source features thousands of reference articles, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.