Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Finder This link opens in a new windowThis resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
Reference Books vs. Circulating Books
Reference books should only be used for an overview, and not as one of your major sources. Because reference book articles are short, you are not going to find the level of detail required to write a successful paper.
Circulating books offers more specific information on one major subject with lots of details in its further subdivision. You may also find lots of supporting materials via facts, personal experience or survey as well as possible some statistics. It takes you to a deeper level of research.
Print Reference Books
Here's a list of selected specialized reference books (available in the Garver Room) you may want to consider.
Remember, reference books CANNOT be checked out or leave the library. When you are done using them, please return reference books to the cart near the entrance to the Garver Room.
***Cite these print Reference books in Noodletools by choosing "Where is it"? --> Print or In-Hand, "What is it" --> Reference Source.
***Cite these sources in Noodletools by choosing "Where is it"? --> Database, "What is it" --> Reference Source.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Gale in Context: Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
This database offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
***Cite these e-Reference books in Noodletools by choosing "Where is it"? --> Database, "What is it" --> Reference Source.