Brace Fellows Research Guide: Primary Sources & Interview Release Form

This guide was created as a tool for the students who have been accepted as Brace Fellows finalists. It is designed to provide access to resources they may need during their research.

Reminders

Primary sources will be vital to your research, and they come in many forms. This page contains some resources that may help you find primary sources, but here are a few general tips:

  • Search the OWHL catalog with any keyword and add the additional phrase "primary source" (use the quotation marks).
  • Secondary and reference sources may contain parts of, or reference to, primary sources.
  • "Bibliography mining" - check the bibliography of any of your sources; there's a good chance they reference primary sources, and the citation for those sources.

Newspapers

Newspaper articles are one type of primary source that can be very versatile. Below are a few of our newspaper-specific databases.  For a description of what each database contains, simply hover your mouse over the "i" next to each one. For a complete list of all our newspaper and magazine databases, go to the our Databases: A to Z list and change the box that says "All Database Types" to "Newspapers and Magazines".

Databases & Websites With Primary Sources

Interview Release Form

How To Get an e-Signature

  • Download the Brace Fellow Interview Release form PDF.
  • Open PDF in Adobe.
  • Click on the "Tools" tab at the top left of the page.
  • Select "Send for Signature" in the tools menu on the right side of the screen.
  • Click "Ready to Send" - DO NOT alter this form.
  • Enter the recipient's email address and don't forget to write a message in the "message" section.
  • Click "Send".
  • When the interviewee receives the emailed PDF, they should be able to fill it out and sign it electronically, then send it back to you.

Interview Release Form Tips:

  • Mention that you'd like the interviewee to sign the release when you initially contact them to arrange dates/times for the interview
  • Have your interviewee sign the release form prior to the interview - this will save you from having to go back later and have them sign the form.