Secondary Sources - E-Books, Journal Articles & Websites - HSS 300 - 1865-1945 in the US

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleTools Helps you stay organized and create citations

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Databases - Journal Articles, Magazines, Popular Press

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
Infobase Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
This database use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and World along with in-depth secondary source articles on historical events. It also provides each issue with its background information and its pro/con arguments.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources – newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, and hobbies.

Find E-Books

Search for Books in the Catalog
Be sure to change the "Format" filter from ALL to Book - Electronic, to limit results to e-books only.

E-Book Databases:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.

E-Book Websites:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book

Internet Archive - Online Options Abound
Start by creating a FREE account using your personal email address (this will allow you to access books after you leave P.A.). Search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by institutions.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Selected E-Books

On this page, you will find specific titles and links to E-Books that may be helpful. Some links will direct you to the online NOBLE catalog with a link there to use the E-Book, while others go directly to the print book scan on a website (like Internet Archive) or in a database (like Proquest E-Book Central). Remember that you can't judge a book by its cover - - browse the Table of Contents and Index of any book here to look for source material, or conduct your own searches for E-books on the next page of this guide.

Reconstruction by Claudine L. Ferrell
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2003
Pure and simple politics : the American Federation of Labor and political activism, 1881-1917 by Julie Greene
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 1998
Give us bread but give us roses : working women's consciousness in the United States, 1890 to the First World War by Sarah Eisenstein
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013
The Rose Man of Sing Sing by James McGrath Morris
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2003
Prohibition Gangsters by Marc Mappen
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013
Crude Politics by Paul Sabin
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2005
Unnatural Selections: Eugenics in American Modernism and the Harlem Renaissance by Daylanne K. English
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2004
The American new woman revisited : a reader, 1894-1930 by Martha H. Patterson
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2008
The road to redemption : Southern politics, 1869-1879 by Michael Perman
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 1984

Recommended Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Ad*Access
"funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University."
American Women's History Digital Collection
Freely Available U.S. History Primary Sources on the Internet
CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
The CIA has established this site to provide the public with an overview of access to CIA information, including electronic access to previously released documents.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearing House
Washington University in St. Louis has created a new database of materials related to civil rights courts cases, including settlements, court orders, opinions, and case study research. The cases are divided into categories including child welfare, immigration, election/voting rights, public housing, and school desegregation.
Civil War Washington
Civil War Washington examines the U.S. national capital from multiple perspectives as a case study of social, political, cultural, and medical/scientific transitions provoked or accelerated by the Civil War.
History Matters
History Matters is a highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history.
Opinion Archives
Contains citation and abstract information for many of the leading opinion journals. For full text access, check with a librarian or use the Journal finding tool.
Oyez
contains media files and short summaries from supreme court cases.
Presidents of the United States: Resource Guides
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a large selection of primary source materials associated with the presidents of the United States, including manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, prints, photographs, sheet music, sound recordings, and films.

HSS 300 - 1865-1945 in the US: Secondary Sources - E-Books, Journal Articles & Websites