OWHL Guides: Berlin: The Architecture of Memory: Websites and Databases

Quick Links

Full Text Finder

Databases vs. Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Recommended Websites

TIP: Many of the websites you will use in this project will be based out of Germany, so the default language may be German. Be sure to look for a translate option, which is usually located at the very top or very bottom of the page. It is often indicated by the nation's flag.

Berlin.de
Website for the city of Berlin.
Information Portal to European Sites of Remembrance
Part of the permanent exhibition at the Information Centre of the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe in Berlin.
Museums in Motion: An Introduction to the History and Functions of Museums
This book provides a history of museums since the eighteenth century with a detailed examination of the function of museums and museum workers in modern society.
The Polynational War Memorial
Database includes information about and images of war memorials, monuments, cemeteries and other resourses from all over the world and a list wars from 1900 until today.
Soviet Memorials
Informational site created by the Senate Department for Urban Development and the Environment.
Getty Images
Use the filters to return searches without people, or for specific types of photographs, etc.

Recommended Databases

ARTSTOR
A digital library of over two million images from some of the world's leading museums, archives, scholars, and artists.
Ebooks on EBSCOhost
Provides access to thousands of ebooks on various subject matters.
Gale New York Times
Full text coverage: 1995 - present.
The Times (of London) Digital Archive: 1785-2014 on Gale
The complete digital archive of The Times (London).
New York Times (NYT)
Full text coverage: 1851 to present.
1. First time user: Create a New York Times personal account using your name@andover.edu email address.
2. You will need to reauthenticate your account annually to keep your subscription current
Oxford Dictionaries
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
PressReader

Press reader provides today's news from over 7000 titles publications (newspapers and magazines) across the globe from 120+ countries in 60+ languages.
ProQuest E-Book Central
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search and read full text articles from 28 historical newspapers listed below [click "more..." to view list"]:

• The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
• The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
• The Boston Globe (1872-1984)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
• The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
• Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
• Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
• The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2015)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• New York Tribune (1841-1922)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
• San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
• The Scotsman (1817-1950)
• The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
• The Times of India (1838-2007)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
• The Washington Post (1877-1999)
International Newsstream by ProQuest

Provides content from more than 660 of the world’s top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.