It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HSS 593 - Natural Causes: How Climate Change Wrote History: Secondary Sources: Books, E-Books, Journal Articles & More
An OWHL guide with resources to support the history research for this interdisciplinary course.
On this page, you'll find links for secondary sources. In the catalog you may search for subject-specific print and electronic books. If you find a book that is useful, be sure to click on the "subject headings" link on the record for that book in the catalog, and it will list any other books in our collection under the same subject heading. When you are looking for something more specific, conduct a search for journal articles. As these are much shorter than books, they are also much more focused and represent academic work by scholars and researchers in the field. Start with books and then look for journal articles. Other secondary sources could include films and websites found on this page.
Pro Tip: In your search for secondary sources, you should look at the bibliographies of useful books and articles to find sources those authors used. If you find a book in the bibliography, look it up in the catalog. If you find a journal article, look for the journal it is from in the Full-Text Finder (in the Quick Link Box on this page). You should type in the name of the journal first, and then search for the article from there. If you need help, don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
Databases: A to ZThe complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library CatalogSearch items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.
NoodleToolsHelps you stay organized and create citations
Full Text FinderThis link opens in a new windowThis resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.
OWHL AnswersNeed help with a citation? Feel free to use the OWHL's online chat service to talk with a librarian as soon as possible
Video on Climate and Migration
Sometimes documentary films may give you great information in a secondary source format. The video below is from a subscription database from the OWHL Database A-Z list, Classroom Video: Films on Demand. Don't forget to look in MediaSpace for streaming options (only available to community members). And, of course, there are often wonderful documentary films and clips that can be found freely on YouTube (website).
**Cite this source below as a videorecording from a database.
Is it possible that climate change could have kick-started the end of Antiquity? When temperatures drop and the climate becomes drier, the Huns swarm Europe. It’s the last straw and brings about a mass migration that shakes the foundations of the Roman Empire. They abandon cities like London – the ghost-towns of Antiquity. Could this have been enough to herald the beginning of the ‘Dark Ages’ that follow? Historic sources from Byzantium right across to China have a different suggestion, now backed up by new scientific insights: around 536 AD, the Ilopango Volcano in Central America erupts. The eruption is violent and propels ashes right up into the Stratosphere. The result: the sun dims to a blueish hue that struggles to break through the ash-layer. The following 10 years are extraordinarily cold: this is the beginning of the dark middle ages, marked by famine, war, and an almost complete loss of cultural heritage.
Subscription Databases - Journal Articles
If you are looking for a specific citation and want to find out if we have access, use the Full-Text Finder in the Quick Links box on this page and type in the name of the journal to see if we have access in our databases, then find the specific issue and article from there. Never pay for anything online! If you need help finding something or have a citation and need access, ask a librarian. If we don't have it in our databases, we will request it for you.
H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited networks publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussions for colleagues and the interested public.
The American Society for Environmental History (ASEH) advances understanding of human interactions with the natural world by promoting historical research and teaching, and fostering dialogue about human use of the earth among humanists, social and environmental scientists, and the public. Its efforts benefit humankind by illuminating the past and providing perspective on current environmental issues.
***Cite any e-book below as a book from a database, not as an e-book. That way, you'll have the correct form in which you will be able to include the link for the e-book. So, in NT, choose "Where is it"? --> Database (or Website if you are finding a book on the web, as in the Internet Archive, for example), "What is it"? --> Book.