OWHL Guides: Finding Images: Images from Phillips Academy

Image Databases Available from the OWHL

Image Databases available from the OWHL

The OWHL provides access to the following image databases and collections. Please log in for off-campus access to PA Restricted resources.

JSTOR Image Collections
PA restricted
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)
PA restricted
Phillips Academy Archives: Photograph Collections
The photograph collection documents Abbot Academy's athletics, buildings, and people (trustees, faculty, staff, students, and alumnae) as well as student life.
Addison Gallery of American Art
The Addison Gallery’s collection of American art is one of the most comprehensive in the world, including more than 25,000 objects spanning the 18th century to the present.

Magazines and Periodical from the OWHL

New York Times (current)
Follow the instructions to subscribe and access NYT for free via the OWHL. Note: you must be connected to campus wifi when you initially subscribe. Once subscribed, you can access NYT from anywhere.

EBSCOhost Time Magazine Archive
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
ProQuest Women's Magazine Archive
An archival database with the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines, including Better Homes & Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, and more. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
Science Magazine Online (AAAS)
Online edition of Science (1997-Present) and the Science Classic (1880-1996) digital archive.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search and read full text articles from 28 historical newspapers listed below [click "more..." to view list"]:

• The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
• The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
• The Boston Globe (1872-1984)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
• The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
• Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
• Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
• The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2015)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• New York Tribune (1841-1922)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
• San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
• The Scotsman (1817-1950)
• The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
• The Times of India (1838-2007)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
• The Washington Post (1877-1999)

How can I use PA restricted images?

Images in PA restricted databases have some restrictions on use.

Typically, images can be used for:

student papers
student presentations or multimedia projects
faculty classroom presentations
course online environments restricted to PA only

Without additional permission from the vendor, images cannot be used for:

open websites or projects posted to the open web
commercial or for-profit products or projects
faculty publications
print brochures for public distribution

Each image database has slightly different use requirements. Please read each databases's conditions-for-use statement if you are not sure if your use would be acceptable.

The OWHL subscribes to these image databases, and the vendors place restrictions on use of the images. Please see the Citation & Copyright page for more information about electronic resources and copyright.

Please see the Open Access page if you need images for use on the open web or other purposes.