Finding Images

Art and architecture images arranged by time period to parallel art history textbook organization.

Art and design from American museums.

Images of art and cultural objects from the New York Public Library, including dance, design, furniture, motion pictures, music, ornament, performance, spectacle, and theatre.

Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.

A database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 13,900 reproductions

Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images from institutional sources contributed for use in learning, teaching and research. Includes art, design, architecture, decorative art, fashion. UK-based.

Features digital images of around objects from the huge range of periods and cultures represented in the British Museum.

Contains images of many of the artworks held and displayed by the Getty Museum in Los Angeles, California.

This online collection contains selected classic works and more recent acquisitions from the Guggenheim Museum in New York.

Provides access to images held by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, including highlights from each of the curatorial departments as well as the entire Department of European Paintings and the entire Department of American Painting and Sculpture.

Contains images of objects from the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, Massachusetts.

The online collection of the Museum of Modern Art includes artists and objects from the departments of Architecture and Design, Drawings, Painting and Sculpture, Prints and Illustrated Books, and Film and Media.

Contains text and/or data on all of the objects in the National Gallery's collection, and images of more than 5600 objects.

American art, craft, and design from all regions, traditions, and cultures. Searchable and browsable by artist, work type, and subject.

An online database of works in the Tate Collection, plus an illustrated glossary.

Works from the Gallery, including paintings, decorative arts, arms and armor, and more. Searchable by department, classification, artist, etc.

Juried collection of contemporary ceramics. Curated by faculty and staff at Lewis & Clark College, Portland, OR.

Chronological highlights of French political and cultural history in art from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, Paris

Medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts in the British Library, London.

Representations of domestic interiors from the Renaissance to the 20th century, showing room layout, furnishings, architecture, and domestic design.

Special Collections in the Getty Research Library, including the art of David Tudor, designs by El Lissitzky, and prints after Poussin.

More than 100,000 manuscripts, paintings and artifacts from Dunhaung and other Silk Road sites of the first millennium AD.

Caricatures and satires of Napoleon's rule in Europe.