Finding Images

Massachusetts Historical Society is the oldest organization in the United States devoted to collecting materials for the study of American history.

The Boston Pictorial Archive is one of the largest distinct collections of images related to Boston held by a public institution and the essential resource for Boston architectural, social, and neighborhood history.

Many collections from the American Antiquarian Society are available digitally via databases, inventories, and online exhibitions. Databases include both resources that are freely available as well as subscription-only resources.

An extensive collection of postcards of Tacoma and the Pacific Northwest region, created by the Tacoma Public Library Northwest Room.

The Boston Athenæum has digitized some 13,000 items from its collections. A significant amount of these are photographic and artwork collections.

Boston College Digitized Collections provides access to several early American sources, much of which are held at the John J. Burns Library.

Digital Commonwealth is a collaborative project between 220 Massachusetts libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies to provide statewide online access to their digitized materials.

Harvard Digital Collections makes available online much of Harvard University’s vast trove of early American sources.

With more than 125,000 objects and 1.5 million archival materials, Historic New England’s collection tells the most complete story of how New Englanders lived from the seventeenth century to today.

The Peabody Essex Museum has digitized some of its early American holdings. Most prominent is The Salem Witch Trials: Reckoning and Reclaiming.