OWHL Guides: Spanish 403: Mexico Culture: Reference Sources Plus

Electronic Reference Databases

Reference sources are also available in database form through the library. These sources are available 24/7!

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Europa World: The Global Reference Resource This link opens in a new window
This database provides in-depth essays on different aspects of individual countries, specializing in economic and historical information.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase World Religions This link opens in a new window
This reference database explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Complete dictionaries for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This reference database spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.
World Geography and Culture This link opens in a new window
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

Get an Overview with Reference Sources

Atlas of World Art
Call Number: REF 709 OX22AT
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean art
Call Number: REF 709.8 EN19
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture by Michael S. Werner (Editor)
Call Number: REF 972 EN19
REF
Mexico
Call Number: REF 972 H87ME
The Mexico Reader
Call Number: REF 972 J68M
Mexico Today
Call Number: REF 972.08 M39S V.1-V.2
The States of Mexico
Call Number: REF 972 ST23ST

Orozco Mural at Dartmouth College

Reference Books vs. Circulating Books

Reference books should only be used for an overview, and not as one of your major sources. Because reference book articles are short, you are not going to find the level of detail required to write a successful paper.

Circulating books offers more specific information on one major subject with lots of details in its further subdivision. You may also find lots of supporting materials via facts, personal experience or survey as well as possible some statistics. It takes you to a deeper level of research.

Spanish 403: Mexico Culture: Reference Sources Plus

Electronic Reference Databases

Get an Overview with Reference Sources

Orozco Mural at Dartmouth College

Reference Books vs. Circulating Books

Mexico Culture and History