Secondary Sources: Books & Journals - PHR 410 – Religion in America

Quick Links

Full Text Finder

Databases with Scholarly Journals

JSTOR

This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes image database (previously ARTSTOR)
Project MUSE

This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
ProQuest Research Library

This database provides access to scholarly and popular press articles covering a wide range of topics, including business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and more.

Books on Reserve

Here is a list of the books on reserve for this project: REL/PHIL 410.

They are located behind the Help Desk on a cart. The books are mixed in with HSS 561 books, so look for the books with the red bookmark.

Search the OWHL Catalog

Oliver Wendell Holmes Library Catalog

Websites, Government Agencies, and Academic Groups/Collections

American Indian History & Other Sites
Troy Johnson, professor of American Indian Studies at California State University, maintained this site that provides a rich array of links to sites related to Native Americans, including education, historical, and tribal links. It includes unique artwork, photographs, video, and sound recordings of the Native Americans in North America and also includes Indian people of Central America and Mexico.
Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures
In an effort to support the study of American Indian Literature, this association’s home page offers links to bibliographies, syllabi to courses in Native American Indian Literature courses, and access to archived copies of the ASAIL’s newsletter dating back to 1973.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Established in 1824, Indian Affairs currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) is responsible for the administration and management of 55 million surface acres and 57 million acres of subsurface minerals estates held in trust by the United States for American Indian, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives.
National Library of Medicine: American Indian Health
The National Library of Medicine generated this portal consisting of links to consumer health, medical resources, policies, research studies, and more. Specific medical conditions as related to American Indians include cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and substance abuse. Traditional healing methods are included like herbal medicines, massage, healing ceremonies, and spirituality, as well as allopathic treatments.
Native American Ethnobotany
A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants.
Native Languages of the Americas
There are more than 800 surviving Native American languages linked to more than 800 tribes in North, Central, and South America. This nonprofit site addresses all of them with informative learning aids like maps locating the tribes in each state, picture dictionaries, pronunciation guides, grants, and more.

PHR 410 – Religion in America: Secondary Sources: Books & Journals

Quick Links

Databases with Scholarly Journals

Recommended Articles

Books on Reserve

Search the OWHL Catalog

Websites, Government Agencies, and Academic Groups/Collections