ENG100 - How The Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents: Historical and Geographical Context - Selected Secondary Sources

This guide has been created for Mr. Bynum's English 100 class. It features resources that provide context for the novel, How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents, by Julia Alvarez.

Secondary Sources - Print

The Dictator Next Door by Eric Paul Roorda
Call Number: 327.73 R673D
The Era of Trujillo by Jesus de Galindez; Russell H. Fitzgibbon (Editor)
Call Number: 972.93 G13E
The United States and the Trujillo Regime by G. Pope Atkins; Larman C. Wilson
Call Number: 972.93 AT5U

Secondary Sources - E-books

The Dominican Republic, by Douglas A. Phillips
Look in the Table of Contents and/or Index to find relevant chapters or sections in this e-book.
Dividing Hispaniola: The Dominican Republic's Border Campaign Against Haiti, 1930-1961
Look in the Table of Contents and/or Index to find relevant chapters or sections in this e-book.

Secondary Sources - Video

Secondary Sources - Found in Reference Databases

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.

World Geography & Culture Online
Check the Categories listed on the left hand side under the Country Menu, which give a topic overview, such as "geography", "people and culture", "history", and "goverrnment".

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.

Secondary Sources - Subscription Database Journal Articles

These journal articles linked below were found in the databases named on the hyperlink. However, you may conduct your own searches in any of our paid subscription databases. See the box below for Quick Links to E-Resources.

Quick Links

Library Catalog

Find the Right E-resource

E-resources A-Z

Full Text Finder

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2023 8:36 AM
URL: https://owhlguides.andover.edu/c.php?g=937503
Print Page

Subjects: English