Databases & Journals - HSS 544 - Vikings - OWHL Guides at Phillips Academy

Quick Links

Databases: A to Z
The complete list of databases available to you through the OWHL. To search for History specific databases click the "All Subjects" dropdown and select "History and Social Science."
Library Catalog
Search items at Phillips Academy or broaden your search to include items offered to you by the NOBLE network.

Full Text Finder This link opens in a new window
This resource allows you to search for specific journal titles in the OWHL's collection and see which databases have the full text articles.

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Oseberg Ship found in mound near Oseberg, Norway: Oslo, Viking Ship Museum oak & beechwood, l. 65', c. 825

Below is a list of recommended databases that contain both articles from scholarly journals and popular press magazines.

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.