OWHL Guides: History 300: A Guide to Research: U.S. Imperialism

Reference Sources

Reference Databases

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Infobase Modern World History This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.
ABC CLIO World History: The Modern Era (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers global history from the Renaissance through today. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
This database provides reference and secondary source information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.

Videos

Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources -- Books/eBooks

American Imperialism by Adam Burns
Call Number: eBook
Colonial Crucible by Alfred W. McCoy (Editor); Francisco A. Scarano (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Visualizing American Empire by David Brody
Call Number: eBook
Power and Policy by Lawrence Lenz
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Power and Resistance by James Petras; Henry Veltmeyer
Call Number: eBook
Race over Empire by Eric T. L. Love
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780807855652
The Purposes of Paradise by Christine Skwiot
Call Number: eBook
Legitimizing Empire by Faye Caronan
Call Number: eBook
No Higher Law by Brian Loveman
Call Number: eBook

Secondary Sources -- Journal Articles

ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.

Secondary Sources -- Videos

Resistance to American Imperialism in the Philippine Islands

How America Became a Superpower (Vox)

A Brief History of America and Cuba (Vox)

Primary Sources

Primary Sources -- Websites/Online

Primary Sources -- Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Search and read full text articles from 28 historical newspapers listed below [click "more..." to view list"]:
• The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
• The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
• The Boston Globe (1872-1984)
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-1992)
• The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
• Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
• Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
• The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
• Hartford Courant (1764-1990)
• Indianapolis Star (1903-1922)
• The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2015)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
• New York Times (1851-2014)
• New York Tribune (1841-1922)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
• Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
• San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)
• The Scotsman (1817-1950)
• The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
• The Times of India (1838-2007)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
• The Washington Post (1877-1999)
America’s Historical Newspapers Series: 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window This database contains American newspaper articles from the late 17th century through 1922.
Gale Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Search tips for many library databases:

Add * to the start of a word to find all possible endings: colon* finds colony, colonies, colonial, colonialism, etc.
Insert ? to stand for exactly one character: Para?tos finds Parantos and Parautos (the "n" in hand-set type sometimes shows up as "u")
Tip for brainstorming search terms: use vocabulary of the time instead of contemporary wording.
You can also browse by date!