OWHL Guides: HSS 495 Final Research Paper: Secondary Sources

Find Books & Ebooks

Print Books & Resources

When searching the catalog below, use keywords that relate to your topic. Try a very short phrase or a single word.

E-Book Databases

**In Noodleools, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Database; "What is it?" > Book

ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.
Ebooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of ebooks on various subject matters.

E-Book/Digitized Book Websites

**In Noodleools, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Website; "What is it?" > Book

Internet Archive - Online Options Abound
Start by creating a FREE account using your personal email address (this will allow you to access books after you leave P.A.). Search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by institutions.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Mascot Nation: The Controversy over Native American Representations in Sports by Andrew C. Billings; Jason Edward Black
Call Number: 305.897 B42M

Databases

Library Databases

Use databases to search a lot of different journals, books, newspapers, etc. all at once! Search them with keywords to find articles and other sources that discuss your topic.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to scholarly and popular press articles covering a wide range of topics, including business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women’s interests.
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
A single search for the following databases: Biology; Canadian Newsstream; Computing; Education; International Newsstream; Psychology; Religion; Research Library; Science; Social Science; and US Newsstream.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to over 900 top educational publications, with topic coverage ranging from primary, secondary and higher education to special education, home schooling, and adult education.

Full-Text Finder!

Use the Full-Text Finder to search individual journals (journals related to your topic specifically or historical journals in general). Search journals with keywords related to your topic or look up specific articles that you already know exist.

Full Text Finder

Online Sources

Websites

Public Opinion Resources

Pew Research Center
Public opinion polling, demographic research, and media content analysis in a number of areas, including U.S. Politics and Journalism & Media.
Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics provides access to trended data for the U.S. back to the 1930's and a decade of data from more than 160 countries. It includes data sources from Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking, and Gallup Brain. Also try searching Gallup News Trends for aggregated reports.
Reuters Polling
Weekly polls on a variety of topics since 2012.