Introduction and e-Reference Sources - HSS 300 - 1950s &1960s in the US

Welcome!

Welcome to The 1950s and 1960s OWHL Guide!

Below is a list of reference sources available to help you get started on your research. It is always best to start with a broad overview. Take notes in these sources for context and terminology, and to identify people, places, and events related to your topic. This will help you identify more specific secondary and primary sources.

If you have any questions, please chat with a librarian below!

Image from ARTstor: Chevrolet Advertisement Illustration, Paul Nonnast, Saturday Evening Post, July 13, 1957.

Reference e-Books

The Encyclopedia of Sixties Cool by Chris Stoddard
Call Number: REF E-Book
The Fifties in America by John C. Super (Editor); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: REF e-Book
The Sixties in America by Carl Singleton (Editor); Rowena Wildin (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: REF E-Book

Reference Databases

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database provides biographical reference articles on more than 650,000 international figures from all times periods and areas of study. It will also link you to relevant popular and scholarly press articles.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.
Infobase American History This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase African American History Online This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Infobase American Indian History This link opens in a new window
This source provides reference articles on over 15,000 years of Native American culture and history, and includes biographies, legends, treaties, and more. Some primary sources are included.

HSS 300 - 1950s &1960s in the US: Introduction and e-Reference Sources

Welcome!

Reference e-Books

Reference Databases