Secondary Sources - E-Books, Journals Articles & Websites - HSS 300 - 1950s &1960s in the US

Finding Secondary Sources

Finding secondary sources is easier once you have taken notes in tertiary sources and identified the people, places, dates, and any terms and keywords relevant to your topic. Secondary sources to start with are books or e-books. If you find one great secondary source, look in the bibliography/references section to identify any other possible secondary sources for your research. Start with the library catalog below. If you have a citation from a bibliography and want to find the source, start with the catalog for books/e-books, and then try Internet Archive (create a free account to access all content). If you would like a print book that isn't in our library or in the NOBLE consortium, speak with a librarian - we may be able to get it for you with an ILL (inter-library loan). If we request it from another library, it could take up to a week or so to get it, so plan ahead. Another type of secondary source is the journal article. These articles are much shorter, but much more specific, than books. They are the result of a scholar or expert studying and writing about an aspect of the topic, so be sure to look for those after you've done enough research in books to know your focus. Otherwise, you'll find a lot of articles that may not useful to you and waste time trying to find them. If you have a citation for a journal article, look to see if we have access to the journal title the article was published in via the Full-Text Finder, on the databases A-Z list, or ask a librarian for help.

Find E-Books

Search for Books in the Catalog
Be sure to change the "Format" filter from ALL to Book - Electronic, to limit results to e-books only.

E-Book Databases:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Database, "What is it?" > Book

Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
It is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world's finest publishers and museums in an innovative new way. Peer-reviewed born-digital content is also published on the A&AePortal.
All records in this database are also searchable via the Evergreen Catalog.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of eBooks on all academic topics from scholarly publishers. All books available in eBook Central can also be found through the OWHL's catalog.

E-Book Websites:

**In Noodleools, under new source, answer the questions like this for the correct citation form: "Where is it?" > Website, "What is it?" > Book

Internet Archive - Online Options Abound
Start by creating a FREE account using your personal email address (this will allow you to access books after you leave P.A.). Search for access to all the free e-books that have been scanned by institutions.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Selected E-Books

Here you will find specific titles and links to e-Books that may be helpful. Some links will direct you to the online NOBLE catalog with a link there to use the e-Book, while others go directly to the print book scan in the Internet Archive. Remember that you can't judge a book by its cover - - browse the Table of Contents and Index of any book here to look for source material, or conduct your own searches for e-books on the next page of this guide.

American culture in the 1960s by Sharon Monteith
Call Number: e-Book
Berkeley at War, The 1960s by Rorabaugh, W J.
Call Number: E-Book
This is Who We Were : in the 1960s by Scott Derks
Call Number: E-Book
Presidents and Protesters : political rhetoric in the 1960s by Theodore Windt
Call Number: E-Book
Last Season of Innocence : The Teen Experience in the 1960s by Victor Brooks
Call Number: E-Book
Peace and Freedom the Civil Rights and Antiwar Movements in the 1960s by Simon Hall
Call Number: e-Book
All you need is love : the Peace Corps and the spirit of the 1960s by Elizabeth Cobbs Hoffman
Call Number: e-Book
America Divided : the Civil War of the 1960s by Maurice Isserman
Call Number: e-Book
Fashions of a Decade, the 1960s by Yvonne Connikie
Call Number: e-Book
America in the Sixties by John Robert Greene
Call Number: e-Book
Smoking typewriters : the Sixties underground press and the rise of alternative media in America by John Campbell McMillian
Call Number: e-Book
New Constellations: Movie Stars of the 1960s by Pamela Robertson Wojcik (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

Journal Articles and Other eResources

General Databases. This list covers many different topics, they are a great place to get started!

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, including Mexican Studies, US Latino & Oral History.
CQ Researcher: 1923 to the Present This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports written by award-winning journalists on controversial and important topics of the day, from 1923 to the present. Professionally fact-checked, topics include economics, social issues, international affairs, politics, civil rights, public policy, and more.
Infobase Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
This database use primary sources to analyze great conflicts in U.S. and World along with in-depth secondary source articles on historical events. It also provides each issue with its background information and its pro/con arguments.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers the full text of hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Recommended Websites

Databases

Paid for by the library. Often very expensive!
Cannot be searched in Google.
Includes sources written by professors, scholars, journalists, "smart people", etc.
Authority of information is verified by experts.

Websites

Access is free. No one is paying for the content.
Anyone can publish a website. The information included is often not verified by anyone.
Can be searched in a variety of search engines, including Google.
Must examine with a critical eye!

Ad*Access
"funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University."
American Women's History Digital Collection
Freely Available U.S. History Primary Sources on the Internet
CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
The CIA has established this site to provide the public with an overview of access to CIA information, including electronic access to previously released documents.
Civil Rights Litigation Clearing House
Washington University in St. Louis has created a new database of materials related to civil rights courts cases, including settlements, court orders, opinions, and case study research. The cases are divided into categories including child welfare, immigration, election/voting rights, public housing, and school desegregation.
Civil War Washington
Civil War Washington examines the U.S. national capital from multiple perspectives as a case study of social, political, cultural, and medical/scientific transitions provoked or accelerated by the Civil War.
History Matters
History Matters is a highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history.
Opinion Archives
Contains citation and abstract information for many of the leading opinion journals. For full text access, check with a librarian or use the Journal finding tool.
Oyez
contains media files and short summaries from supreme court cases.
Presidents of the United States: Resource Guides
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a large selection of primary source materials associated with the presidents of the United States, including manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, prints, photographs, sheet music, sound recordings, and films.

HSS 300 - 1950s &1960s in the US: Secondary Sources - E-Books, Journals Articles & Websites