OWHL Guides: Money, Economy and Society -- Summer 2021: ReferenceSources

Why Reference Sources?

Offer an introduction to a variety of relevant subjects
Give an overview of specific Economic Theories
Provide a vocabulary for more complicated searches
Identifies important thinkers/writers in the field of study

Selected Reference Titles

The following is a highlighted list of Economic Reference Books in the OWHL

All reference books can be found in the Garver (Silent Study) room
Click on the book title for more information (i.e. table of contents and citation information)
If you need assistance or can't find what you want, please Ask a Librarian

21st Century Economics by Rhona C. Free (Editor)
This print source offers brief articles on many sets of "specialty" sets of economics including microfinance, gambling, oil/energy, healthcare, and sports. For a complete list, click the title above to go to the book's record.
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy by David E. O'Connor
Call Number: REF 330.03 OC66EN
Offers insight into issues specific to Globalism (i.e. Sustainability, quality of life, global output, poverty, & income distribution).
Economics Basics by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: REF 330 EC742 Vols. I and II
ISBN: 089356947X
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
The Great Depression by David F. Burg
Call Number: 973.91 B91G
ISBN: 0816030952
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Note: This can be considered a reference work even though it is shelved in the regular stacks.
The Jim Crow Encyclopedia by Nikki L. M. Brown (Editor); Barry M. Stentiford (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.896 J44
ISBN: 9780313341816
Publication Date: 2008-09-30
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law by Peter Newman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 330.3 N442 Vols. I, II, and III
ISBN: 1561592153
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
This is an advanced dictionary with lengthy articles on important concepts and theories. It should be your first stop on the research journey. This is the professional's dictionary.
Poverty in the United States by Gwendolyn Mink (Editor); Alice M. O'Connor (Editor)
Call Number: REF 339.4 P87MI Vols. I and II
ISBN: 1576075974
Publication Date: 2004-11-22

Online Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This database is like an online Garver Room with articles from nearly 1,000 reference sources covering all disciplines.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe searches the indices of reference works at the Garver Room. It provides researchers with the most reliable introductions to your research topic, simplifying the process of finding just the right book or journal article.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This reference database spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.